FIFA Confederation Cup 2009


The FIFA Confederations Cup is one of the most competitive tournaments among national soccer teams. It features champions of each of the six FIFA confederations – CONCACAF (Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football), UEFA (Union of European Football Associations), CAF (African Football Confederation), CONMEBOL (South American Football Confederation), AFC (Asian Football Confederation) and OFC (Oceania Football Confederation), and both the upcoming host country and past winner of the FIFA World Cup.

Originally organized by and held in Saudi Arabia, and known as the King Fahd Cup, the tournament was founded in 1992. FIFA took control of the event in 1997, renaming it the FIFA Confederations Cup and hosting the tournament every two years. Now contested every four years (since 2005), the Confederations Cup is played one-year prior to the FIFA World Cup.

The Teams for FIFA Confederations Cup 2009 which be held at South Africa :

groups confed cup

FIFA Confederations Cup History :

history confed cup


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: